Wednesday, May 29, 2024
HomeNASCAR NewsSpeedway Motorsports Achievements Shine at 2023 NASCAR Awards Banquet

Speedway Motorsports Achievements Shine at 2023 NASCAR Awards Banquet

Speedway Motorsports Achievements: Speedway Motorsports hailed their exceptional contributors during the 2023 NASCAR Awards Banquet, held at The Twelve Thirty Club in Nashville. The event celebrated the remarkable accomplishments of individuals across Speedway Motorsports’ spectrum, acknowledging their prowess in various categories.

President and CEO Marcus Smith expressed gratitude, emphasizing the company’s relentless pursuit of exceeding fan and stakeholder expectations in producing top-tier sports and entertainment events. “Our teams have shown remarkable dedication and hard work to drive our success in 2023,” Smith remarked.

O. Bruton Smith Award

The esteemed 2023 O. Bruton Smith Award was conferred upon Speedway Motorsports’ Chief Financial Officer Michael Hodge. Established 11 years ago, this prestigious accolade recognizes individuals embodying founder O. Bruton Smith’s virtues: character, drive, team appreciation, and vision.

With 16 years of dedicated service, Hodge oversees financial strategies and reporting. His journey at Speedway Motorsports started in 2006, after which he held various financial management roles within the company. Smith praised Hodge’s invaluable contributions, acknowledging his behind-the-scenes efforts vital to the company’s success.

Promoter of the Year

Greg Walter, Executive Vice President and General Manager at Charlotte Motor Speedway, secured the Promoter of the Year title for the second consecutive year. His innovative leadership and execution in fostering growth and hosting acclaimed events like the Coca-Cola 600 and NHRA Four-Wide Nationals earned him this accolade.

Walter’s dedication extended beyond track boundaries, advocating for sports betting licenses and tirelessly promoting motorsports to state officials. Smith commended Walter’s exceptional leadership, his role in promoting tourism spending, and his commitment to fostering growth at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Speedway of the Year

Las Vegas Motor Speedway, led by President and General Manager Chris Powell, clinched the prestigious Speedway of the Year award. Recognized for its exceptional performance in fan engagement, attendance, financial success, and creative initiatives, LVMS stood out in hosting events like the Electric Daisy Carnival music festival.

Mike Burch, Speedway Motorsports’ Executive Vice President and COO, praised LVMS for its record-breaking revenue and its prowess in attracting diverse events and corporate engagements.

Speedway Motorsports Achievements (2)

Acceleration Award

Texas Motor Speedway received the Acceleration Award, a recognition of remarkable year-over-year improvements across various metrics. Mark Faber, Senior Vice President and General Manager at TMS, accepted the award on behalf of the team, highlighting their achievements in revenue growth and engaging fan experiences.

Under Faber’s leadership, Texas Motor Speedway witnessed significant success, including hosting events like the Gordy’s Hwy 30 Music Fest and introducing novel attractions like the “Bigger Hoss” giant HDTV. Smith lauded TMS’s efforts in revitalizing its status as an entertainment hub and expressed anticipation for their strides in 2024.

The 2023 Awards Banquet not only honored individuals but also underlined Speedway Motorsports’ commitment to excellence and innovation across its facilities.

ALSO READ: 2023 Awards Unveil Stars: Dale Earnhardt Jr. Shines Light on NASCAR’s Future

Our Reader’s Queries

What is the history of Speedway Motorsports?

Speedway Motorsports was founded in 1994, but its roots go back to the 1950s when Bruton Smith, a race promoter, started building the foundation for what would become SMI. In 1959, he completed the construction of Charlotte Motor Speedway. However, Smith left the racing industry in the early 1960s to explore other business opportunities.

What tracks does Speedway Motorsports own?

The company currently possesses and manages 11 motorsports entertainment venues, including Atlanta Motor Speedway, Bristol Motor Speedway, Charlotte Motor Speedway, Las Vegas Motor Speedway, New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Sonoma Raceway, Texas Motor Speedway, Dover Motor Speedway, Nashville Superspeedway, and North Wilkesboro Speedway.

Is Speedway Motorsports publicly traded?

Sonic Financial Corp. has successfully acquired all outstanding shares of Speedway Motorsports, Inc. As a result, SMI will now be a privately owned company and will no longer be listed on the New York Stock Exchange.

When did Speedway Motorsports buy North Wilkesboro Speedway?

The North Wilkesboro Speedway, owned by Speedway Motorsports, Inc. since 1995, has a permanent capacity of 19,800, which can be expanded to 24,800 with temporary grandstands. The speedway broke ground in 1945 and opened on May 18, 1947. It has undergone three re-openings, the most recent being in August 2022. The oval track is a prominent feature of the speedway.

Khushal Bhatia
Khushal Bhatia
Khushal Bhatia, a distinguished BA (Hons) English graduate from St. Stephen College (University of Delhi) and a holder of a Post Graduate Diploma in Journalism (English) from IIMC Delhi, is an accomplished journalist. Currently affiliated with, Khushal is an expert in covering a range of sports topics with a specialization in motorsports, particularly NASCAR. His insightful articles explore the nuances of the sporting world, providing readers with comprehensive analysis and the latest updates. With a commitment to unbiased reporting, Khushal's expertise and authoritative voice make him a reliable source for sports enthusiasts.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Follow Us

Most Popular